2016-2017 News

Photo of Tyler Maunu

Tyler Maunu Awarded Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship

June 28, 2017 - Tyler Maunu has been awarded a University of Minnesota Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship for 2017-18. Tyler's research interests lie in statistics, machine learning, computer vision, and non-convex optimization, and his thesis advisor is Gilad Lerman. The Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship (DDF) gives the University's most accomplished PhD candidates an opportunity to devote full-time effort to an outstanding research project by providing time to finalize and write a dissertation during the fellowship year.
photo of Han Yong Wunrow

Han Yong Wunrow Receives Fulbright Award

May 22, 2017 - Senior and math major, Han Yong Wunrow, has received a Fulbright Scholarship to teach English in Korea. Born in Korea and adopted at an early age, Wunrow has maintained ties to Korean culture by participating in traditional Samulnori drumming and studying abroad at Pohang University of Science and Engineering. At the University of Minnesota, he is active in several groups in the College of Science and Engineering and in Mathematics. A successful participant mathematical modeling competitions, Wunrow plans to complete graduate study in Health Metrics after his year in Korea.
photos of newly promoted faculty, including Tyler Lawson,  Arnab Sen, Craig Westerland

Congratulations Newly Promoted Faculty

May 18, 2017 - The Board of Regents approved the promotion of three faculty members in the School of Mathematics.
Associate Professors with tenure:
Arnab Sen - research Interests: Probability theory and discrete harmonic analysis
Craig Westerland - research Interests: Algebraic topology and its applications
Full Professors:  
Tyler Lawson - research interests: Algebraic topology, K-theory
graph of branching Brownian motion

Prof. Maury Bramson Elected Member of National Academy of Sciences (NAS)

May 8, 2017 - Professor Maury Bramson has been elected as a member of the prestigious National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of his excellence in original scientific research. He works in probability theory, including interacting particle systems, branching Brownian motion, and stochastic networks.  The National Academy of Sciences is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare.
Laurel Ohm

Laurel Ohm Awarded Torske Klubben Fellowship

May 5, 2017 - Laurel Ohm has been awarded a Torske Klubben Fellowship for Minnesota Residents, based on her outstanding academic record and professional promise. The goal of the fellowship program is to support future leaders and maintain cultural ties between Norway and America. Laurel's research interests lie in mathematical biology, and her thesis advisors are Yoichiro Mori and Dan Spirn.
ICM 2018 logo

Prof. Svitlana Mayboroda Invited to Speak at ICM 2018

May 4, 2017 - Professor Svitlana Mayboroda is an invited sectional speaker at the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in summer, 2018, in recognition of her research in analysis and partial differential equations.
Dallas Albritton

Dallas Albritton Awarded a National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowship

April 20, 2017 - Dallas Albritton has been awarded a National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowship. This is a highly competitive, three year fellowship that is awarded to U.S. citizens and nationals who intend to pursue a doctoral degree in one of fifteen supported disciplines. Dallas' thesis advisor is Vladimír Šverák, and his research is in partial differential equations, especially the Navier-Stokes equations and other equations arising in fluid dynamics.
Photo of Rahul Parhi

Rahul Parhi Named Goldwater Scholar

April 13, 2017 - Rahul Parhi, a University of Minnesota junior majoring in math and computer science and UMTYMP alumnus has been named a 2017 Goldwater Scholar. The prestigious, competitive scholarship is awarded annually to outstanding sophomores and juniors who intend to pursue research-oriented careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering. In addition, physics and math majors Kendra Bergstedt and Ryan Schmitz received honorable mentions.
 Photos of 2015-16 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award winners Nicole Bridgland, Harris Mohammed Ismail, and Katherine Weber

2015-16 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

April 3, 2017 - Congratulations to Nicole Bridgland, Harris Mohammed Ismail, and Katherine Weber, recipients of the 2015 - 2016 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award. The Instructional Evaluation Committee chose the recipients based on nominations from students and faculty, and on faculty evaluations.  
Adrienne Sands and Rajendra Beekie

Adrienne Sands and Rajendra Beekie awarded National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowships

March 24, 2017 - Adrienne Sands and Rajendra Beekie were both awarded prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowships.  Adrienne is a second year mathematics Ph.D. student studying number theory under Paul Garrett.  Raj is a graduating math major, who will attend graduate school in math next fall.  The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students who have demonstrated potential for significant achievements in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.
Kate Meyer

Kate Meyer Awarded Interdisciplinary Doctoral Fellowship

February 7, 2017 - Kate Meyer has been awarded an Interdisciplinary Doctoral Fellowship from the University of Minnesota Graduate School. The Fellowship supports outstanding Ph.D. students with an interdisciplinary dissertation topic. Kate will work with Prof. Sarah Hobbie at the Institute on the Environment toward understanding the impacts of ecosystem disturbances through mathematical models and ecological data.
Svitlana Mayboroda

Prof. Svitlana Mayboroda Awarded Von Neumann Fellowship

February 6, 2017 - Prof. Svitlana Mayboroda has been awarded a Von Neumann Fellowship, a prestigious appointment at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, to visit during the Academic Year 2017-2018 in order to further her research program in partial differential equations and their applications.
2017 US News And World Report Best Global Universities Logo

University of Minnesota’s Mathematics Program is ranked 13th in the 2017 U.S News Best

December 7, 2016 - University of Minnesota’s Mathematics Program is ranked 13th in the 2017 U.S News Best Global Universities listing - making it the highest ranking discipline within the University. The U of M ranked 38th overall among 1000 universities spread out across 65 countries. These rankings offer the most comprehensive assessment of research universities worldwide as well as by region and country.
Joshua Wilson

Joshua Wilson Receives Science Graduate Student Research Award

September 28, 2016 - Joshua Wilson has been selected to receive the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science Graduate Student Research (SCGSR) award for his research project, “High-Performance High-Order Simulations for Optimal Design of Electromagnetic Metasurfaces”, to be conducted at Argonne National Laboratory (ANL). Joshua's thesis advisor is Fadil Santosa. The award is in recognition of his outstanding academic accomplishments and the merit of the SCGSR research proposal.
Albert and Dorothy Marden

New Professorship for Mathematics Department

September 15, 2016 - Professor Albert Marden and his wife Dorothy have endowed a Professorship in our Department. Starting in 2024, two Marden Professors will be selected every five years from among the exceptional tenured faculty. This marks the 54 years of Professor Marden's service to the Department and the University. The Department and College are very grateful to the Mardens for making this important and lasting gift.