2016-17 Outstanding TA Awards image with photos of Harini Chandramouli, Shelley Kandola, and Tara Palnitkar

2016-17 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

March 28, 2018 - Congratulations to Harini Chandramouli, Shelley Kandola, and Tara Palnitkar, recipients of the 2016 - 2017 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award. The Instructional Evaluation Committee chose the recipients based on nominations from students and faculty, and on faculty evaluations.    
Professor Dennis Stanton

JMM Special Session in Honor of Prof. Dennis Stanton

January 24, 2018 - A Special Session on Special Functions and Combinatorics in honor of Prof. Dennis Stanton's 65th birthday was held on January 10-11 at the Joint Mathematics Meeting in San Diego. The session highlighted Dennis' many contributions to the field, and was organized by Susanna Fishel, Mourad Ismail, and Vic Reiner. It included 20 high profile speakers and over 60 in attendance, many with Minnesota connections.
Yunpeng Shi

Yunpeng Shi Awarded MnDRIVE Graduate Assistantship

December 19, 2017 - Yunpeng Shi has been awarded a MnDRIVE Graduate Assistantship by the University of Minnesota Informatics Institute.  The program funds PhD graduate students pursuing research at the intersection of informatics and any of the four MnDRIVE initiatives, in this case robotics, sensors, and advanced manufacturing.  Yunpeng is a student of Prof. Gilad Lerman and works in computer vision, machine learning, and data analysis.
Kimberly Logan, Graduate Student at the University of Minnesota School of Mathematics

Kimberly Logan Awarded Louise T. Dosdall Fellowship for 2018-19

December 14, 2017 - Kimberly Logan has been awarded a Louise T. Dosdall Fellowship for the 2018-19 academic year.  The award is open to women graduate students who show exceptional promise for a successful career in research in the natural or physical sciences and engineering, and being selected is a tribute to her excellent academic record.
peter polacik, AMS Fello 2018

Prof. Peter Polacik named Fellow of the American Mathematical Society

November 10, 2017 - Prof. Peter Polacik was named Fellow of the American Mathematical Society for 2018 for contributions to partial differential equations and infinite-dimensional dynamical systems. The Fellows of the AMS designation recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics. Among the goals of the program are to create an enlarged class of mathematicians recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the profession and to honor excellence.
Griffin Macris sits on the stairs of the math building.

Griffin Macris receives Karl Menger Prize

October 26, 2017 - Griffin Macris, a freshman in the College of Science and Engineering, received the First Place Award for this year's American Mathematical Society Karl Menger Memorial Prize for his poster on number theory, “Polynomials in Z [x] and irrationality measure”.  The award was presented at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair, the world’s largest international precollege science competition, that brings together more than 1,800 high school students to present posters with results of their independent research, who are from more than seventy-five countries, regions, and territories, and selected from millions of students worldwide through local science fairs, followed by Intel ISEF-affiliated regional, state, and national fairs.  Griffin grew up in New Prague, MN, and intends to major in Mathematics here at the University of Minnesota.
Photo of Professor Mitchell Luskin, IPAM Simons Participant

Prof. Mitchell Luskin Named IPAM Simons Participant

September 15, 2017 - Professor Mitchell Luskin was named the first IPAM Simons Participant at the Institute for Pure & Applied Mathematics in the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) during their program “Complex High-dimensional Energy Landscapes” which began on September 11, 2017.  A conference on Multiscale Theory and Computation in honor of Prof. Luskin's 65th birthday is being held here at the University of Minnesota on September 23-25, 2017.