Directory

Scot Adams
Professor

(612) 625-5507
354 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
adams@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Dynamical systems, foliations, ergodic theory, hyperbolic groups, trees, Riemannian geometry.

Anar Akhmedov
Associate Professor

(612) 624-5224
355 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
akhmedov@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Low dimensional topology, symplectic topology.

Greg Anderson
Professor

(612) 625-9524
460 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
gwanders@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Free probability and random matrices.

Douglas Arnold
McKnight Presidential Professor

(612) 626-9137
512 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
arnold@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Numerical analysis, differential equations, mechanics, computational relativity.

Rina Ashkenazi
Contract Assistant Professor

(612) 625-9835
112A Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
ashke004@umn.edu
Research Interests: Mathematical and computational models of complex systems.

Christine Berkesch Zamaere
Assistant Professor

(612) 624-5713
254 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
cberkesc@umn.edu
Research Interests: Algebraic geometry, commutative algebra.

Dmitriy Bilyk
Associate Professor

(612) 625-0753
328 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
dbilyk@umn.edu
Research Interests: Harmonic analysis, discrepancy theory, approximation, probability.

Sergey Bobkov
Professor

(612) 625-1840
228 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
bobkov@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Geometric and functional isoperimetric inequalities, concentration of measure and isoperimetry.

Maury Bramson
Professor

(612) 625-9876
237 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
bramson@umn.edu
Research Interests: Probability theory.

Benjamin Brubaker
Professor

(612) 625-7396
352 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
brubaker@umn.edu
Research Interests: Automorphic forms, representation theory, number theory.

Jeffrey Calder
Assistant Professor

(612) 626-1324
538 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
jwcalder@umn.edu
Research Interests: Partial differential equations, numerical analysis, applied probability, machine learning, image processing and computer vision.

Maria-Carme Calderer
Professor

(612) 625-2569
507 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
mcc@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Applied mathematics, continuum mechanics, soft condensed matter physics and materials science, with emphasis on liquid crystals, ferroic materials, partial differential equations and calculus of variations.

Wei-Kuo Chen
Assistant Professor

(612) 625-0885
537 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
wkchen@umn.edu
Research Interests: Probability Theory and Mathematical Physics.

Ionut Ciocan-Fontanine
Professor

(612) 625-7801
450 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
ciocan@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Algebraic geometry, moduli spaces, Gromov-Witten theory.

Bernardo Cockburn
Distinguished McKnight a Professor

(612) 625-2587
327 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
bcockbur@umn.edu
Research Interests: Numerical analysis.

Jack Conn
Associate Professor

(612) 625-8004
429 Vincent Hall
conn@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Differential geometry, mathematical physics.

Adrian Diaconu
Associate Professor

(612) 625-0582
357 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
cad@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Number theory, automorphic forms.

Jasmine Foo
Associate Professor

(612) 625-0885
240 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
jyfoo@umn.edu
Research Interests: Mathematical biology and applied mathematics.

Bert Fristedt
Professor

(612) 625-5081
252 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
fristedt@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Probability, game theory, applications to combinatorics.

Paul Garrett
Professor

(612) 624-5012
353 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
garrett@umn.edu
Research Interests: Automorphic forms, L-functions, representations, harmonic analysis, number theory.

Bob Gulliver
Professor

(612) 625-1560
452 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
gulliver@umn.edu
Research Interests: Partial differential equations, calculus of variations, differential geometry.

Dennis Hejhal
Professor

(612) 625-4557
220 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
hejhal@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Analysis, analytic number theory.

Dihua Jiang
Professor

(612) 625-7532
224 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
dhjiang@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Automorphic forms, L-functions, number theory, harmonic analysis, representation theory.

Markus Keel
Professor

(612) 624-6341
222 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
keel@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Partial differential equations; real, harmonic, and functional analysis.

Nicolai Krylov
Samuel G. Ordway Professor

(612) 625-8338
225 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
nkrylov@umn.edu
Research Interests: Partial differential equations, probability.

Kai-Wen Lan
Associate Professor

(612) 625-1076
351 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
kwlan@umn.edu
Research Interests: Number theory, automorphic forms, Shimura varieties and related topics in arithmetic geometry.

Tyler Lawson
Associate Professor

(612) 625-6802
323 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
tlawson@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Algebraic topology, K-theory.

Gilad Lerman
Professor

(612) 624-5541
534 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
lerman@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Computational harmonic analysis, analysis of large data sets and statistical learning, bio-informatics.

Tian-Jun Li
Professor

(612) 625-2036
260 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
tjli@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Differential geometry, symplectic topology.

Mitchell Luskin
Professor

(612) 625-6565
330 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
luskin@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Numerical analysis, scientific computing, applied mathematics, computational physics.

Gennady Lyubeznik
Professor

(612) 624-7014
259 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
gennady@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Commutative algebra, algebraic geometry.

Albert Marden
Professor

(612) 625-5879
326 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
am@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Riemann surfaces and Teichmuller spaces of Riemann surfaces, hyperbolic geometry of surfaces and 3-manifolds, Fuchsian and Kleinian groups, complex dynamics, geometric analysis in low dimensions.

Svitlana Mayboroda
Northrop Professor

(612) 625-4811
223 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
svitlana@umn.edu
Research Interests: Analysis and partial differential equations

Richard McGehee
Professor

(612) 624-9040
458 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
mcgehee@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Dynamical systems, applied math.

William Messing
Professor

(612) 625-0735
257 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
messing@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: P-adic representations associated with algebraic varieties via cohomology, the connections between the latter and De Rham cohomology.

Chester Miracle
Associate Professor

(612) 625-2095
234 Vincent Hall
miracle@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Mathematics education, harmonic analysis.

Richard Moeckel
Professor

(612) 624-9548
255 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
rick@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Dynamical systems, celestial mechanics.

Yoichiro Mori
Associate Professor

(612) 625-3570
539 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
ymori@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Mathematical biology, applied mathematics, scientific computing/numerical analysis.

Bryan Mosher
Contract Associate Professor

(612) 625-3060
116 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
mosher@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Mathematics education, low-dimensional geometry and topology.

Gregg Musiker
Associate Professor

(612) 624-7073
251 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
musiker@umn.edu
Research Interests: Combinatorics, cluster algebras, and tropical geometry

Wei-Ming Ni
Professor

(612) 625-9542
453 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
wmni@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Nonlinear functional analysis, partial differential equations.

Duane Nykamp
Associate Professor

(612) 625-0338
202 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
nykamp@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Applied math, mathematical biology, mathematical neuroscience.

Andrew Odlyzko
Professor

(612) 625-6413
511 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
odlyzko@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Computational complexity, cryptography, number theory, combinatorics, coding theory, analysis, probability theory, ecommerce, and economics of data neworks.

Peter Olver
Professor

(612) 625-5591
127A Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
olver@umn.edu
Research Interests: Lie groups, differential equations, computer vision, applied mathematics, differential geometry, mathematical physics.

Hans Othmer
Professor

(612) 624-8325
270a Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
othmer@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Applied math, mathematical biology, dynamical systems.

Peter Polacik
Professor

(612) 625-2352
226 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
polacik@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Partial differential equations, dynamical systems.

Camelia Pop
Assistant Professor

(612) 625-0397
221 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
capop@umn.edu
Research Interests: Partial differential equations, stochastic analysis, mathematical biology, mathematical finance.

Karel Prikry
Professor

(612) 625-4514
214 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
prikry@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Set theory, measure theory, integer algebras.

Pavlo Pylyavskyy
Associate Professor

(612) 625-3855
258 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
ppylyavs@umn.edu
Research Interests: Algebraic combinatorics

Victor Reiner
Distinguished McKnight University Professor

(612) 625-6682
256 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
reiner@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Combinatorics.

Jonathan Rogness
Contract Assistant Professor

(612) 625-2861
431 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
rogness@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Mathematics education, algebraic topology.

Mikhail Safonov
Professor

(612) 625-8571
231 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
safonov@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Partial differential equations, probability.

Fadil Santosa
Professor

(612) 626-0528
533 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
santosa@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Applied mathematics and modelling, optimization, imaging.

Arnd Scheel
Professor

(612) 625-4065
509 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
scheel@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Dynamical systems, partial differential equations, applied math.

Arnab Sen
Assistant Professor

(612) 625-1390
238 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
arnab@umn.edu
Research Interests: Probability theory and discrete harmonic analysis.

Steven Sperber
Professor

(612) 625-4374
457 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
sperber@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Arithmetic algebraic geometry, number theory, arithmetic.

Daniel Spirn
Professor

(612) 625-1349
508 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
spirn@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Partial differential equations, applied mathematics.

Dennis Stanton
Professor

(612) 624-7544
253 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
stanton@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Combinatorics, orthogonal polynomials, special functions.

Vladimir Sverak
Distinguished McKnight University Professor

(612) 625-1899
236 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
sverak@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Partial differential equations.

Yu-Jong Tzeng
Assistant Professor

(612) 624-4025
451 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
ytzeng@umn.edu
Research Interests: Algebraic Geometry.

Alexander Voronov
Professor

(612) 624-0355
324 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
voronov@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Mathematical physics, algebraic topology, algebra, algebraic geometry.

Jiaping Wang
Professor

(612) 624-3829
230 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
jiaping@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Differential geometry and partial differential equations.

Peter Webb
Professor

(612) 625-3491
350 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
webb@math.umn.edu
Research Interests: Representation theory of groups and algebras, algebraic topology, combinatorics, category theory.

Mike Weimerskirch
Contract Assistant Professor

(612) 626-8460
115 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
weim0024@umn.edu
Research Interests: Combinatorial game theory, probability theory and the ranking of NCAA football teams, math education.

Craig Westerland
Assistant Professor

(612) 625-0523
459 Vincent Hall
Personal Home Page
cwesterl@umn.edu
Research Interests: Algebraic topology and its applications.